HELP! I WANT TO GET TO PEAK OF MY CAREER! Part 1

Morolake Ojuola
3 min readAug 12, 2019

--

Have you ever wondered as a young woman when or how you would get to the peak of your career? You look at your current position, the big dreams you have and they seem not to be adding up? You are not alone! A lot of us wonder too! The “gram” makes it look so “glam”doesn’t it?

I once reached out to one of my mentors with these exact thoughts, sharing my aspirations and dreams.

Mentor-Mentee Conversations

I shared the challenges of the situation at the time. I felt that repeatedly entering customer details on an excel sheet or preparing for Monday morning meetings where I had to help the Boss look good, read out previous minutes of meeting and take down the next one had become too monotonous and there was no way I was going to get to the top that way. (I am sure some of my colleagues reading this would be having a good laugh). It’s OK. You can join in the laugh too. Lol. It was not a joke back then though. I was borderline frustrated.

Someone also said to me “ I am just a youth corp member teaching in a public secondary school to students who don’t even care. How would this experience add up? What has teaching children got to with working in an International Development Company or an International Non-Profit.

This person clearly has her eyes for the top but was also wondering like you and I how her current situation would help her get there!

The summary of my mentor’s reply can be captured in this -

There is really no harm with wanting more or being ambitious. As a matter of fact you should always strive to be more. That’s a natural human phenomenon. We always want more. However, you MUST learn to be FAITHFUL (I REPEAT FAITHFUL) and grateful for where you are to be able to get to where you want to be. At the end of the day, you will discover, every experience counts.

To be continued…..

--

--

Morolake Ojuola

No Woman should live less than she can. I believe in the strategic role women play Nation building.